Subtasks

Subtasks allow you to make lists within lists for those times when creating a whole new queue is overkill.

Creating Subtasks

To make an existing task a subtask click the arrow or hit the right arrow key.

Click the arrow or hit the left arrow key to move the subtask back out.

You can create as many levels of subtasks as necessary.


Moving Subtasks Around

You can drag tasks to any level of the hierarchy by clicking on the tasks's number and dragging.

To constrain dragging to the current level click anywhere on the task (except on the number) and drag.


Showing / Hiding Subtasks

To expand or collapse subtasks for a task just click on the task's number.

To expand or collapse all subtasks in the entire queue you can choose that option from the dropdown menu.


Completing Tasks & Subtasks

You mark subtasks complete the same as regular tasks - by clicking the checkmark. As a convenience, if you click the checkmark on an task that has subtasks, all of those subtasks will also be marked complete.


Viewing Completed Subtasks

By default, subtasks are crossed off as complete, but left active so you can keep track of your work until the parent task is ready to be marked complete.

However, you can adjust the checkmark action so all tasks are archived immediately. In this case you can view completed subtasks while a parent task is still open by clicking the magnifying glass.

This will bring up the Task Overview which shows the open and completed tasks all together.


Viewing Parent Tasks

When you view a Smart Queue or one for a specific tag you may see subtasks in the list without their parent (because the parent did not match the filter of the Smart Queue). However, the entire chain of parents is displayed and you can click on any parent name to bring up the Task Overview.


Deleting Tasks with Subtasks

If you delete a task that has subtasks, all of the subtasks will also be deleted. This action cannot be undone. For safety, you will be alerted with a warning message before the delete is carried out.